Pioneer Valley Transit Authority
About PVTA
Largest Regional Transit Authority in Massachusetts

The Pioneer Valley Transit Authority is the largest regional transit authority in Massachusetts with 186 buses, 132 vans and 24 participating member communities. The Pioneer Valley Transit Authority was created by Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 161B in 1974 as a funding source and to provide oversight and coordination of public transportation within the Pioneer Valley region.

Funding for the PVTA comes from federal, state and local governments and farebox and advertising revenues. The cities and towns that are served by the PVTA pay an assessed amount, depending on the number of fixed route miles and paratransit passengers served in that city or town.

Federal funds must be used for capital projects. Capital funds may only be spent on tangible items such as equipment, preventative maintenance of vehicles, facilities and equipment, ADA services, facility improvements and the purchase of vehicles.

Operating expenses must come from grants, state and local funding and farebox revenue. Operating expenses covers salaries, benefits, advertising and marketing expenses and other cash needs.

The Administrator is appointed by the Advisory Board which consists of:
a.) The Mayor or City or Town Manager of each city.
b.) The Chair of the Board of Selectmen of each town having such board, or the Town Manager or Town Administrator of each town.
c.) Advisory Board members may appoint designees to act on their behalf.

The 24 Member Communities

Agawam, Amherst, Belchertown, Chicopee, Easthampton, East Longmeadow, Granby, Hadley, Hampden, Holyoke, Leverett, Longmeadow, Ludlow, Northampton, Palmer, Pelham, South Hadley, Springfield, Sunderland, Ware, Westfield, West Springfield, Wilbraham, Williamsburg.

PVTA Organization Chart 2022
PVTA Organization Chart 2022